Spirit & Truth

But the hour cometh, and now is, when the true worshippers shall worship the Father in spirit and in truth: for the Father seeketh such to worship him.

God is a Spirit: and they that worship him must worship him in spirit and in truth.”  John 4:23-24

Not only is worshiping God in manner of Spirit and Truth the proper way to come at such a Holy, Divine, Perfect GOD; it is only form of worship that JEHOVAH seeketh.

What exactly did Jesus mean by Spirit & Truth?  After all, he was talking to a woman who was spiritually blind at the time.  She was not even a Jew.  Salvation is of the Jews.

It is important we differentiate between man-made religion and true spirituality.  Religion is suited for man by man.  The Jews were then (and still are now) some of the most “religious” folks to walk the face of the planet.  They had a complex system of 613 Mosaic laws that had to be strictly followed in order to please a Holy God.  This means watching every step you take and every action you partake of.  To speak the wrong words at the wrong time was a death sentence according to the Torah.

The gospel of Jesus Christ preached through Paul the Apostle is unlike anything ever preached since the beginning of time.  Salvation through the Grace of God alone.  Undeserved.  Unearned.  You are unworthy.

ALL WORLD RELIGIONS=WHAT CAN I DO FOR GOD?

CHRISTIANITY=WHAT GOD DID FOR ME.

I “chased after” the LORD for years.  I memorized my favorite Bible quotes and cited them regularly.  (Often completely out of context)  I rebuked others hypocritically.  I prayed and begged for God’s salvation.  I understood nothing about salvation, the power of God, or the deeper meaning behind the Holy Scriptures.  I would go through all the religious motions of falling out on the floor when a pastor touched my forehead, mimicked speaking in tongues the best I knew, laid prostrate on the church floor begging for deliverance from drug addiction…You name it.

One day in December 2013 in the Chapel of a small ministry on the east side of Austin, Texas, I raised my hands to worship music, closed my eyes, and began to worship the Lord my God in spirit and truth.  I heard the Lord say to me “Do you want it?”  I said yes!  After years of being a religious fanatic….I received the Holy Ghost as living waters washed me from head to toe.

I will never forget this day.  It was a true transforming point in my life.  The same Spirit that raised Jesus Christ from the tomb now dwelleth in me.  Alleliua.

You see, God is a Spirit; and those who want to worship God must worship him in SPIRIT and in TRUTH.  He will reject any other form.  I am living proof.  Now my prayers go up to heaven as a pleasing aroma to his nostrils.  Not a stanky stench of religion.

Amen.

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

3 thoughts on “Spirit & Truth

Leave your Thoughts

